Greetings and Salutations

Apple Core

Reaction score
TL;DR at the bottom for the lazy.

What's up? Fuck putting my real name out on the internet to strangers - so I'm going by Roadie while I'm here I guess. Maybe I'll loosen up over time, who knows?

I've done some backpacking. I did a 6-month trip to lots of England, Whales, Scotland, Ireland, Holland. Had a good time for the most part. 2.5 months of that trip was spent in the amazing country of Nepal, where I volunteered on an Ashram/Farm WWOOF style, hiked for 10 days in the Himalayas, and explored some of the smaller towns and cities. I got to hitchhike for the first time there as well. It was my first time traveling solo, but even so, I felt lots of family pressure on how to act and what to do and stuff (they were keeping close tabs on me the whole time...), so I feel like I kind of got less than what I really wanted out of it all. It was also planned to be short in duration, for I'm also a college student (we get back to family pressure and my own confusion on what to do with my life).

Currently I'm just about to finish another semester of university - learning how to be a live audio guy (hence the username) while also minoring in philosophy. I'll be doing another year's worth of that before I graduate. And then from there...I have no idea. And that's why I'm here.

Increasingly, I have felt the road calling to me. My heart screams for it. School and my career path seem like a drag to me a lot of the times, and not very fulfilling to myself. A career in general just sounds painful. If I could learn how to live full-time on the road, living cheaply, surviving on my own means, going wherever it is my heart pleases, it would suit me. My philosophy towards life (and death) and how it should be lived makes this seem like the ideal to me. Obviously I know it's not all fun and games, and I would have lots to learn, plan for, and challenges to confront head-on.