Good Towns for Poetry

Prufrock

Reaction score
First I want to admit that I'm a complete newbie and have never travelled on my own. So if I say something stupid, please try to look past it. And if this is in the wrong section, I apologize.

Here's my situation -- Basically what I want to do is be a vagabond poet. I want to travel around the country and write. So I'm wondering if there are any people on here like me who might know of some towns with a good "poetry scene."

I realize that not many places have a large poetry scene, and I'm not even sure if "poetry scenes" exist anymore, but I thought I'd ask.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Beegod Santana

Reaction score
I know a few rainbow ladies who do street poetry readings and it seems to work alright for them. Most major cities out west seem to have some kinda "poetry scene" then of course there's always NYC. Berkley seems to have the highest ratio of "too smart to work" bums in the country, I'd start there.

CXR1037

I'm a d-bag and got banned.
Banned
Reaction score
I think most people don't get poetry. If only there could be a short story scene!

Also, bay area is full of hipster fucks who like to think they can write epic poems in their moleskine notebooks. Disregard these people. Real poetry exists outside of those bullshit scenes. Real poetry, I think, exists in the most visceral of places. Think warzones, impoverished neighborhoods, freight yards.

cxR - "empty boxcars rolling down empty tracks/languid apparitions of capitalism"

Reactions: outskirts

Raging Bird

Reaction score
Website
www.ragingbirdofyouth.tumblr.com
I've never found that in punk places. Hippies do more of it, but there's a lot of dumb shit to filter through to actually hear something worthwhile. CXR is right about Berkeley and especially the "too smart to work" comment :D

Hate to point out that Prufrock is by far the worst poem that guy ever wrote, though.

Reactions: Mankini

bryanpaul

Reaction score