First time cross country

Mickie

Reaction score
Hey there, I'm Mickie. I'm traveling from Phoenix, AZ to Boston, MA in February, and this is my first time going cross country on foot. So I was hoping to get some insight on the subject. Any helpful advice would be gratefully appreciated. If anyone's looking for a road dog, someone who'd be willing to show me the ropes would be very helpful too.

jojoofu

Reaction score
Gear , gear , gear. If you're going on that long of a trip get gear. Relying on wits and human compassion will only take you so far. What gear do you have ?

Mickie

Reaction score
None yet but I have a long list I'm working on. I'm pretty much covered on that front just more concerned on what areas to avoid, eating situations, and weather.

jojoofu

Reaction score
None yet but I have a long list I'm working on. I'm pretty much covered on that front just more concerned on what areas to avoid, eating situations, and weather.

That depends on who you are and what you like. Personally I hate big cities because of the crime. However some people love the big city. The only places I would put as an absolute no are Detroit MI and Atlanta GA.

If you have a phone you can check the weather pretty easily on google. You can also use google maps to scout out wooded areas for camping. Just beware the maps aren't always up to date.

Eating won't be an issue if you stick the big cities. You can find tons of soup kitchens and social services. Off the beaten path is a different story. You may want to pack a fishing pole.

Ultimately it depends on the type of journey you want to take.

• Useful
Reactions: Coywolf
Reaction score