First step in converting my SUV into my "home"?

Reaction score
Hey. What's up? I just joined. I'm a noob when it comes to travelling so bare with me haha. I have an SUV, a ford escape, about 10 years old. The back seats fold down to where I can put the whole back down and only have the two front seats up. What are the first steps I can take in converting my SUV into a new home for a while? It's not a huge car but it's not tiny either. I don't know anything about mechanics, carpentry, but I think I can still do something to make it a comfy place to sleep at night and hold what I need. I think the first few steps I could take would be getting the windows tinted and window vent visors. Any other suggestions? Thank you.

Reaction score
Thank you for the reply. I haven't thought this out completely yet but here is a rough draft:

Clothes - 5 shirts, 2 pairs of shorts, 2 pairs of pants, 5 boxers, 5 pairs of socks, 1 pair of boots, 1 pair of shoes, 1 hat, 1 hoodie, and 1 jacket.
For cooking/eating - one pot, one skillet, 1 multipurpose tool that includes fork, knife, & spoon, a portable propane grill (wether I bring this or not depends on if it's safe to drive with),
Misc. items - guitar, portable amp, (may opt out to a small cheap acoustic/parlor guitar) small axe, knife, box of matches, a couple lighters, and pepperspray.

That's honestly all I can think of off the top of my head right now. Anything you can suggest I get rid of or add to the list would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

SophiaII

Shoot Me
Reaction score
personally, i'd add a showerbox. like a small showercaddy and fix any toiletries you want in there.