expiration date - how old is too old

lone wolf

Reaction score
i always heard can food is good for decades but what about the easy open cans (with tab). will those also last decades after the printed date?

i opened a can of chill with august 2011 expire date. smells fine, would you heat it and eat it?

MolotovMocktail

Subverting from within
Reaction score
I would probably eat the chili but I'm not too picky about expiration dates. If the can was damaged, rusty, or bulging, I would throw it out because that could result in some gnarly shit getting into your food. Please note that I'm not a scientist and don't really know what I'm talking about, I'm just a cheapskate who doesn't like letting food go to waste.

Dmac

Reaction score
I agree with @MolotovMocktail , if the can is bulging don't even open it. otherwise if it smells ok, it probably is. if you are not sure, don't take the chance. or you could try a little bit, then wait and see how it makes you feel, before eating the rest.

Tude

Sometimes traveler is traveling.
Reaction score
ha - I'm the "hey can you see if this is too old" from my Mom's fridge. Do you know how many years I've helped Mom clean her fridge. Blegh!!!

Nothing like hitting a thing of yogurt (OK it's a month past it's due date but some have survived) and hitting HUGE blob of mold in the middle of the container. :( after of course I ate some of the surface stuff - thinking ..... hmmm has a funny taste. The older canned stuff - I'd do the open, look and sniff test. Don't look good, smell real - toss it. In between I'd do it.

Andrea Van Scoyoc

Nomad Missionary & Tree Hugging Jesus Freak
Reaction score
I agree with everybody. I too, will eat food past expiration, and use medication as well.

I've had people say to me, "if it's expired, it might not work, or work as well."

When you don't have money for health insurance or doctor visits, something that will help, even minimally, is better than nothing.