Cannery work tips for a newbie | Squat the Planet

Cannery work tips for a newbie

cornmeal33

Reaction score
Hey Guys! I'm new here, I love reading everyone's stories and protips for cruising this planet.
I'm a student in California and I'm going to go work in a cannery next month in Naknek, Alaska.
It's my first time and I'm just wondering if anyone has any do's and dont's they can pass my way :)
Cruise on, cruisers.

Reactions: 1CannaBliss3

train in vain

Reaction score
Hey Guys! I'm new here, I love reading everyone's stories and protips for cruising this planet.
I'm a student in California and I'm going to go work in a cannery next month in Naknek, Alaska.
It's my first time and I'm just wondering if anyone has any do's and dont's they can pass my way :)
Cruise on, cruisers.
Search around..someone posted a pretty in depth run down of his time at a cannery awhile back

Reactions: iamwhatiam

Cloval

Reaction score
Welcome aboard! I don't have any advise on the cannery (sounds tough but rewarding). The search function at the top right of the page should give you lots of info. I have learned a lot by digging deep in various threads here. Have fun!

iamwhatiam

Burrito fund contributor
StP Supporter
Reaction score
-Don't drink so much that you show up hungover to work. It will suck working around fish guts and blood and loud noise when hungover.

-Don't go into it expecting you will make tons of money. Some years the salmon run is strong, other years it isn't.

-Do bring your own INSULATED boots if possible, maybe wool socks too. Getting some comfortable insoles that will pad your feet will make it more comfortable when you are standing for 16 hours a day. X-tra tuffs are the go to boot all the locals wear in AK (get the tall kind, you can always fold em down if you like later). The company will provide boots to people, but they are cheapo brand. Trust me, your feet will appreciate having a good insulated boot.