BEAR MEAT AND COFFEE

• Thread starter Deleted member 15688
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 15688

Montana%2044_zpsfpb3umvt.jpg

Its funny how certain sights, smells or tastes can trigger your memory. One day in Cambodia I was standing on the balcony of my apartment , it was a relatively cool day, with a slight rain falling. I was munching on some crispy flat bread and drinking coffee. The combination of the Bread, coffee and rain, took me back about a million years to my cabin in the Garnet range of Montana. I have always liked cool rainy days, with a little fog thrown in. At the time, I had been working in Montana as Guide and Mule packer for a couple of years and , It was never a great paying gig, but it was fun, adventurous, and the view from the office was spectacular.

I had just finished up the summer guide season. The outfit I worked for had been taking folks in and out of the Bob Marshall, and Scape Goat Wilderness areas around Seeley lake, and Lincoln, Montana. I Drew my pay, plus the "Boss" gave me 20 pounds of frozen bear meat then, dropped me off in Missoula. I stayed in town for a bit, and went to the Oxford bar and bought myself a "double Ox Burger" and hash browns, washed it down with a beer or 2, then Paid my bills, to include the mortgage and taxes on my little cabin and 20 acres.
After the bills were paid, I had very little money left to buy food, or any other type of supplies. As I recall, I was able to buy a Large jar of Nescafe instant coffee , some olive oil, and 2 packs of flour tortillas AND, I had the 20 lbs of bear meat.