Backpack tips for those without an A/N store. | Squat the Planet

Backpack tips for those without an A/N store.

urchin

Reaction score
Where I live, in the middle Georgia area, the only A/N store closed years ago (the building is still there however if you want to squat there). Although this is a base area it's pretty much impossible to get stuff like packs and tents unless you go to Academy or Dick's, where they charge a hefty amount of money. I'm not good at sewing at all and I seriously doubt the mentioned stores throw away things like packs, tents, and other essentials. Does anyone have any tips? For those of you who might recommend getting a job around here the opportunities suck, especially if you don't know someone. I've been trying for months and the best thing I got were two interviews.

urbanflow

Reaction score
my advice? buy a tarp and a cheap bag from walmart, spend some change at an rei/mes or raid their dumpsters or at least go online. there isnt a whole lot you can do if you cant do any of them.

if you have a salvation army or other thrift stores in the area thats probably your best bet.

urchin

Reaction score
There is no REI or MEI in the area. I think the closest is Atlanta, which is a two-hour drive. I also think the area theft stores are all gone (at least where I am now they are).

I suppose Slavation Army will have to be where I look.

menu

Reaction score
you could always steal a pack. you got legs. run. or if you're actually trying to get a pack to travel with just leave town and gear up in a place with more to offer. I feel that some of these threads could be avoided if all we did was think it through. anyway. good luck holmes

urchin

Reaction score