Anyone ride motorcycles? | Squat the Planet

Anyone ride motorcycles?

Hudson

Reaction score
Got myself an old 2006 1100cc honda shadow with low miles on it. Ive put about 3,000 miles on it this year.

I'm looking for advice on camping out on a motorcycle if anyone has any.

Reactions: Maxnomad

Hudson

Reaction score
I tend to stay away from traffic, its hard in northern California area but very doable.

The one thing I'm taught as a commercial driver I always try to follow is the 5 keys of the Smith driving system.

Truth be told though about 70% of motorcycle accidents are just the rider and the bike not any outside parties. Sure I ride like a psychopath sometimes but not all the time.

Reactions: Juan Derlust

James Meadowlark

Sonic Reducer
Reaction score
My current ride is an eleven year-old Triumph Bonneville 865cc that I mostly use for commuting. Way better on gas than a car, and far easier to find parking around town. In the last five years, I've camped (short term) for different motorcycle events/festivals around FLA- Just pop my gear in a backpack and go.

Groundscore

Reaction score
Pack light and tight, and make sure you have the ability to keep things dry. - That includes yourself.

Take a few short trips first, to get the feel of what you need/don't need and see how things ride. You'll quickly learn better ways of packing stuff from experience.

Bungee cords are your friend, just don't count on a single one, and don't lose an eye to one, and I will add if you have the money, ROK straps are much better.

Watch out for vehicles, as trust me, they won't be watching for you, ever.

Keep the rubber on the road and the shiny side up.

D

Deleted member 22934

IMG_20190807_192854.jpg