Amsterdam to Spain Ideas? | Squat the Planet

Amsterdam to Spain Ideas?

godfrey

Reaction score
howdy,

i'm doing my first hobo trip from amsterdam to spain in september after getting a one way flight from ireland. any ideas on how to go about it?

bryanpaul

Reaction score
hitchhike....try to sneak on passenger trains...pay for passenger trains.....rideshares(is there a european craigslist?).....i have no experience with europe, just throwin these out there.....or by hobo trip do you mean catchin freight trains?

godfrey

Reaction score
anything really! dunno bout the freight trains cause there ain't too many in europe. i wondering if anyone had made a trip like this? or wanted to join me on it.

bryanpaul

Reaction score
there's a few folks on here either in europe or familiar with traveling there....i'm sure they'll chime in on this thread....might want to check out www.digihitch.com ..... there's a "europe" section with stories of travelin around there

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
Dude, you should bike it, its really fucking easy. There are paved bike paths / trails all the way from amsterdam to paris, and its pretty much flat the entire way. I hear its like that pretty much all the way to spain, with the exception of the pirrenese mountains i think theyre called... Those are a bitch, and crop up right after crossing into spain i think. That route is also some kind of old catholic pilgramige trail... Cant remember the name though.

Blacknose

Reaction score
Its the way of St.James or Camino de Santiago
Should be easy to bike, and you can cross the pyrenees close to the mediteranian sea or atlantic if you want to keep your bike , the mountains are supposedly a load of fun if you're into it though ..

Hitching should be easy aswell, can take you as little as 2 days , think about avoiding Paris thogh as its a real mess roadwise

Cardboard

I'm a d-bag and got banned.
Banned
Reaction score