Advice/Support. Graduating High School and issues with family

ashley

Reaction score
Last week I went to visit my grandpa at his business with my mom, when I was suddenly surounded by my aunt, grandpa, mom, and cusion. I was intergatted with questions of where I'm going to college after I graduate, and why haven't I applied any where yet. I told them, that I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life, and I don't think anyone can fully understand what they want to be when they haven't even really experienced anything other than years of schooling. I told them I wanted to go traveling again for a while ( this time a longer time lol) , and than from there see where I want to go college for. My grandpa told me " If you love me you will go to school right after you graduate." They basically didn't believe that I'd go back. They told me everyone says "ill go back but never do." I feel terrible for letting my family down, but at least I graduated high school. I can't live my life for everyone else right? Do you think they will get over it? UGHHH This is hard.

Also why would I subject myself to being thosands of dollars in debt for schooling that I have no heart in.

Just some needing some advice, or support.

- ashley:sos:

compass

Lost
Reaction score
They might not get over it, but really, that's their problem to deal with, and unfair to you. You can't live your life for other people.

I'm sorry, but that shit your grandpa said is terribly manipulative, selfish and childish. Why would your love for him be contingent on you going to school. Fucking ridiculous. They're trying to control you, based upon their socially constructed fears. They won't understand.

Live your life.

Reactions: roughdraft

dirty_rotten_squatter

Reaction score