1st Time Hitchhiking Ever....and in Nepal | Squat the Planet

1st Time Hitchhiking Ever....and in Nepal

Apple Core

Reaction score
Lumbini, Nepal, December 2016. The supposed birthplace of Siddhārtha Gautama Buddha.

I had been backpacking around Nepal for about 2 months at this point, mainly staying at a farm/ashram up above the outskirts of Pokhara. I managed to get down from the hills and mountains of Pokhara to the near barren and dusty plains of Lumbini, near the Nepal/India border, over the course of several days via public transit, dirt cheap accommodation, and a little luck. I didn't pack much in the way of food or camping supplies because I could easily get by on $10 / day for everything I'd need, and I had the money to keep me afloat.